Gluten Free Diets

Are Oats Gluten Free? Celiac Questions Answered.

Sharing is caring!

Wondering about Gluten Free Oats? KC the G-Free Foodie explains:
Oats themselves do not contain gluten, so it is tempting to conclude that they are safe for consumption by those with Celiac Disease. However, the vast majority of oats are cross-contaminated either during processing, packaging, or shipping. That’s why you’ll want to look for oats labeled “Gluten-Free” – that means they’ve been processed without the threat of cross-contamination, and are safe for those living a Gluten-Free life.

FYI – a similar protein to gluten naturally exists in oats, called avenins. These proteins tolerated by most people with Celiac Disease.

Follow G-Free Foodie & live deliciously Gluten Free!
G-Free Foodie website:

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *